Phox: Tiny Desk Concert

by Bob Boilen

I first saw Phox in an impromptu concert at a restaurant in Philadelphia. I thought the band was talented and charming, and I still do. Phox is six friends from Baraboo, Wis., who make pretty, catchy music. The group’s not-so-secret weapon is Monica Martin, who sings with a smoky lilt in front of spare, tasteful instrumentation.

You can hear that warm, accessible sound on Phox’s 2014 debut, which was recorded at Wisconsin’s April Base studio, built by Bon Iver ‘s Justin Vernon and his brother. Touring has tightened this band since that off-the-cuff restaurant performance last year, as this marvelous performance at the Tiny Desk suggests.

Set List

  • “Kingfisher”
  • “1936”
  • “Slow Motion”


Producers: Bob Boilen, Maggie Starbard; Audio Engineer: Kevin Wait; Videographers: Colin Marshall, Nick Michael, Maggie Starbard; Assistant Producer: Morgan McCloy; photo by Morgan McCloy/NPR

Credit: NPR

Source: NPRMusic

Israel Nash, ‘Rain Plans’

by Jim Beckmann

A “rain plan” is practically unknown in the Pacific Northwest. It rains here too frequently, but rarely fervently, for anyone to need that kind of alternate arrangement. For us, rain plans are active ones — scenarios for doing and being.

Maybe that’s why Israel Nash ‘s 2014 album Rain Plans gripped us so firmly. Nash’s music seems to call us to an alternate time and place where people and ideas matter; where songs can resurrect one’s heroes and tear down those who abuse their power. His is an idealism worth sharing in any weather.

For this session, Nash gathered a group of the talented friends who brought his rich, rousing music to fruition on his last two albums; they now tour with him across the U.S. Here, KEXP welcomes the return of Israel Nash, come whatever may fall.

  • “Rain Plans”

Credit: David Rzegocki/KEXP

Source: NPRMusic

Metropolis: 2/28/15


Damien Jurado is one of the artists featured in this week's episode of Metropolis.

Damien Jurado is one of the artists featured in this week’s episode of Metropolis. Steve Gullick/Courtesy of the artist hide caption

Damien Jurado is one of the artists featured in this week’s episode of Metropolis.

This Week’s Playlist

  • Spada feat. Hosie Neal, “Feels Like Home (Bakermat Remix)” (Hysterical)
  • Damien Jurado, “Ohio (Filous Remix)” (Ultra)
  • Panda Bear, “Crosswords” (Domino)
  • Mason, “Nite Rite 1” (Boss)
  • Basement Jaxx, “Never Say Never (Mark Knight Remix)” ([PIAS] America)
  • Simion, “Give You Love (The Piano)” (Suara)
  • Ayla, “Wish I Was (Spada Remix)” (Hysterical)
  • Mickey, “You Know The Beat” (Exploited)
  • Marshall Jefferson, “Move Your Body (Tchami Future House Mix)”
  • Chris Lake, “Chest”
  • INXS, “Need You Tonight (Latroit Mix)”
  • ODESZA, “All We Need (feat. Shy Girls) (John Digweed & Nick Muir Remix)” (Counter)
  • Just Kiddin, “Always There”
  • Ruckazoid, “Money” (Liquid Amber)
  • Urban Cone, “Sadness Disease (Aiylo Remix)” (Universal)
  • Kele, “Coasting” (Lilac)
  • Hot Chip, “Huarache Lights” (Domino)
  • Seinabo Sey, “Younger (Kygo Remix)” (Virgin)
  • DREWXHILL, “Bullets (James Zabiela’s Born Electric Remix)” (Born Electric)
  • Nightcrawlers, “Push The Feeling On (MK Dub Of Doom Mix)” (Great Jones)
  • Pleasure State, “Ghost In The System (feat. Anabel Englund)” (Hot Creations)
  • ODESZA, “Bloom (Lane 8 Remix)” (Counter)
  • Lxury, “Pick You Up” (Greco Roman)
  • Kinree & Liva K, “In The Hood” (Bunny Tiger)
  • Felon, “Isla” (Ultra)
  • George Maple, “Talk Talk (Moon Boots Remix)” (Virgin)
  • Rob Garza, “Re Mana feat. Vasuda Sharma (Psychemagik Remix)”

KCRW’s Jason Bentley hosts a weekly spin of the best electronic, dance and beyond.

Source: NPRMusic